Sign In

SWIS - Settlement Workers In Schools

 

The Settlement Workers In Schools (SWIS) Program provides professional settlement services to immigrants, refugees, other eligible students and families.

The SWIS team is committed to serving families through its school-based settlement services and the program is designed to enable families to fully participate in a culturally-diverse society.
 
SWIS does not only connect families to schools, communities and other government service providers, but also believes in empowering clients to become self-sufficient in their new home.
 
Settlement Workers in Schools (SWIS) offer a number of workshops during the school year as well as on-going assistance to families.  For more information, please visit: ​ http://www.vsb.bc.ca/settlement-workers-schools-swis and  http://www.welcomebc.ca/Communities-and-Service-Providers/Service-Providers/funded-services/inclusive-
 
 
 

Settlement Workers for Lord Byng Secondary School   

Language Name email  Cell Phone Office

Voice Mail:

604-713-6000

Arabic Heivin Ahmad hahmad@vsb.bc.ca   Moberly 2497
Chinese  Janet Chung jlchung@vsb.bc.ca 778 772 2084 Lord Byng 2486
Farsi Soheila Ansari sansari@vsb.bc.ca   King George 2490
Filipino Rosalinda Barrientos rbarriento@vsb.bc.ca   Carleton 2509
Korean Jin Engen jengen@vsb.bc.ca   Champlain Heights 2492
Punjabi/Hindi Gurpreet Nagra gnagra@vsb.bc.ca   Moberly 2494
Russian Svetlana Stepanyak sstepanyk@vsb.bc.ca   Roberts 2508
Spanish Claudia Sandoval csandoval@vsb.bc.ca   Moberly 2493
Vietnamese Michelle Nguyen mnguyen@vsb.bc.ca   Windermere 2511